PYP Exhibition: Creating Central Ideas…or an Exercise to Check the Boxes?

Thought I would just get that out there. It’s PYP Exhibition time again. A time of love and not so love. A time of energy and exhaustion. A time of community and growth. A time to fill in boxes. Did I just say that? Our students have been excited about Exhibition. We are starting earlier…

Sourced through Scoop.it from: kdceci.wordpress.com

This is a great example of the PYP in action because the blogger/teacher is explaining the process of preparing her students for the big inquiry that they are about to embark upon in her class. She is giving a helpful step-by-step as to how she got her students to be the decision-makers in the creation of central ideas for their exhibition projects. This is key! Giving the agency to our students is very important, and embodies, I think, what our goal should be as teachers in the PYP. Even though I teach PYP1, I am currently a mentor/supervisor for a group of three boys who are working on their exhibition project now. So, this resource was very relevant to me, and I find this teacher’s other blog posts very fascinating and helpful. 

Leave a comment